On September 16, the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB) announced the appointment of new members to its Community Bank Advisory Council (CBAC). CBAC members serve a two-year term and provide advice on how the CFPB’s policies and rulemakings affect community banks.

Members are drawn from financial institutions across the nation. Newly selected members included Davenport, Evans, Hurwitz & Smith, LLP alumna Kristina Schaefer, General Counsel and Chief Risk Officer at First Bank & Trust in Brookings, South Dakota.

Other newly selected members of the Community Bank Advisory Council include:
• John Buhrmaster, President and CEO of First National Bank of Scotia, Scotia, New York
• Ronette Hauser-Jones, Mortgage Division President at Great Plains Bank, Oklahoma City
• Brad Williamson, President and CEO of Islanders Bank, Friday Harbor, Washington

They join the following members returning for a second year:
• CBAC Chairman Valerie Quiett, SVP and Chief Legal Officer at M&F Bank, Durham, North Carolina
• Patrick Ervin, EVP at Independent Bank, Troy, Michigan
• ABA board member Shan Hanes, President and CEO of Heartland Tri-State Bank, Elkhart, Kansas
• Bruce Ocko, SVP for Mortgage and Consumer Lending at Bangor Savings Bank, Bangor, Maine

Davenport, Evans, Hurwitz & Smith, LLP, located in Sioux Falls, South Dakota, is one of the state’s largest law firms. The firm’s attorneys provide business and litigation counsel to individuals and corporate clients in a variety of practice areas. For more information about Davenport Evans, visit www.dehs.com.