Thank you to all who joined us for the 13th Annual Davenport Evans Banking Seminar, Friday, April 26, at The Country Club of Sioux Falls. The seminar offered important legal updates and best practices useful in “Protecting Your Bank’s Future.”

Banker attendance continues to exceed our expectations.  The seminar began with a hot breakfast and a welcome and introductory remarks by Dixie K. Hieb. The day’s presentations began with Charles D. Gullickson and Olivia R. Karns presenting on Preemption, Interest Rate Exportation, and Lingering Effects of the Madden Case, followed by Fiduciaries: Who Can Access Your Customer’s Account?, presented by trusts and estates attorneys Sarah Richardson Larson and Mark R. Krogstad.

After a networking break, Keith A. Gauer moderated a conversation with regulators, including James LaPierre, Regional Director, FDIC and Bret Afdahl, Director, South Dakota Division of Banking.

Next was a series of quick-fire presentations from Davenport Evans lawyers, including The Prepaid Accounts Rule: In Effect and In Compliance, from Tiffany M. Miller, Beneficial Ownership: A Cheat Sheet for Compliance, from Dixie K. Hieb, Subpoena Surprise, from Rita M. Edwards, and Creditors’ Rights and the Triple Whammy, from Robert E. Hayes.

After the final break and introductions of the remaining Davenport Evans lawyers in attendance, lunch was served. Douglas J. Hajek introduced the keynote speaker, Curt Everson, President of the South Dakota Bankers Association (SDBA.) Everson’s presentation was entitled, Current Events, a Legislative Recap, and Insights from the SDBA.

For information on these presentations, or to request a speaker from Davenport Evans, please contact Kristen Townsend at 605-357-1249 or

Davenport, Evans, Hurwitz & Smith, LLP, located in Sioux Falls, South Dakota, is one of the State’s largest law firms. The firm’s attorneys provide business and litigation counsel to individuals and corporate clients in a variety of practice areas. For more information about Davenport Evans, visit

Charles Gullickson Banking Seminar 2019 Curt Everson Doug Hajek Banking Seminar 2019 Bob Hayes Banking Seminar 2019 Dixie Hieb Banking Seminar 2019 Tiffany Miller Banking Seminar 2019 Mark Krogstad Banking Seminar 2019 Sarah Larson Banking Seminar 2019